top of page

Exploring ANDO

For the past 2 years of my life, I have got a new identity, my own identity, I am an architect ! But it does not feel as cheesy as it sounds all the time! Anyways, being affiliated to the architecture community have presented me with amazing opportunities along with untold hardship at different times of my life and I am ever grateful for that! Architecture did not just introduced me with a new way of life but also helped me to explore myself, push the boundaries and excel. But among everything, the greatest gift I received by far is the chance to explore Japan and the works of world famous Japanese architect Mr Tadao Ando ! I never thought, I would, ever in my life, visit the country of my dream. And wait, the good news did not just stop there ! I was presented with a rare opportunity to have a conversation with the Master of Light, Tadao Ando, himself ! Something worth dying for ! What else could you ever wish for ??? Right after I stepped in Japan, we were taken for an extensive tour around Osaka, Kyoto, Naoshima Island and Awaji Island exploring the amazing works of Ando sensei ! His works are extremely appreciated all around the world.


Ando Sensei's spaces are too grand to be captured with a 24mm lens! Besides I was more intrigued by the textures of Ando Sensei's signature concrete walls, the amazing patterns, spaces, the modular concrete blocks, repeated shuttering holes, the light, openings, all the details that make it even more intricate.

The signature 'Ando Concrete' texture from Museum Chikatsu Asuka, Osaka Prefecture.

' Ma (間) '- The Japanese Space Concept which means something more than just space! Im fascinated with the word ! So with this amazing creation of Ando Sensei ! The Water Temple, Honpokunji, Awaji-ishi.

Sayamaieke Museum, Awaji Yumebutai and Water Temple (click the image to view large.)

Water Temple

As the sun rose and hit those nude concrete walls, as the frozen structures cast sharp shadows against the surface, as some parts got illuminated, I realized why they call ''him'' the Master of the Light. How can somebody have such intense knowledge about how nature behaves ?

Awaji Yumebutai

Details, Awaji Yumebutai

100 Step garden, Awaji Yumebutai, Westin Awaji Island.

How many of you got the chance to roam around Ando's Yumebutai Complex at the dead of a night ? I tell you it was once in a life time opportunity and I'm glad that I took it ! The spaces are hauntingly beautiful ! But it got a bit scary after a while and I had to head back to my room.

Awaji Yumebutai

Last but not the least The Church of Light.

Where the magic happens, Tadao Ando Architects & Associates.

The 30 days in Japan has been the most cherished days of my life. I learned, I experienced, I grew and most importantly I met so many wonderful soul in this process. Japan will always fill up my heart with a sweet warmth, Japan will always be cherished.

PS: These are just photographs to freeze the moments to keep a record. But I wanted to do something more than capturing the frames. I wanted to bring some real experience along with me when I get back to my country. So, I deliberately started another project. As I said before Ando;s Concrete is a mystery and it has an amazing visual and tactile texture that makes it stand out, I started to take impressions of the concrete shutter holes. Every single building I visited designed by Ando Sensei, I put my sketchbook on the wall and took the impression on paper. The outcome is as below,

Galaxy !

some sketches from the trip

bottom of page