top of page

FRAGMENTS OF CAIRO

It's been a decade since my journey as a photographer started officially. Though the curiosity in this domain was manifested in a very early age with the Japanese film camera, Yashika, that my father had. I started looking at the world through my lens, the one and only prime lens that I could afford. Which eventually resulted in my fragmented vision !! I started perceiving the environment around me in frames, with or without the camera. My brain would by default break things down in simple forms and colors as I see something. My ten years of experience in architecture discipline including both academic and professional, also extensively spoiled (!) my brain in doing so.

My photography domain in Cairo was extremely restricted due to the multiple incidents I faced due to carrying a DSLR camera. The political situation, the extreme and unnecessary power play, and hilarious (intimidating as well) security control never made me feel comfortable to take photos. At one point, I lost all the interest and motivation to go around with my camera and take photos, what I liked doing most. Few days down the line I started to get agitated and thought to myself, 'I just can't leave Cairo without my frames, my very own fragmented frames!'

So I started collecting my frames, as I saw them, with the Chinese phone I have, trying not to pop out, trying to be discreet. Eventually, these are my fragmented frames from all over the (crazy, amazing, unbearable but full of riddles) - Cairo !

'This city is a gem,

a mystery, a riddle

a chaos, an impossible

a Pandora's box!!'

in material and light.

through the ceilings of detail and intricacy!

Last but not the least............................

..as Cairo is incomplete without the magnificent Pyramid !

bottom of page